John Webber gives Writtle C the edge

Writtle C moved into second place in division two of the Chelmsford & District Table Tennis League by beating fourth placed Hatfield Peverel A 6-4. Without their leading player Gary Ward it was John Webber who held them together with three wins. He beat Martin Archie (11-9, 11-4, 11-6), Neil Freeman (11-7, 11-4, 11-9) and Gareth Davies (9-11, 11-9, 11-8, 11-4). John Gagg played his part by getting the better of Neil Freeman (11-9, 11-6, 8-11, 3-11, 12-10).   OCs C (Mick Richardson, Mick Hayes and David Porter) did well to beat Danbury F 7-3, good going as Sam Phillips won his three singles for the Danbury side. Phillips prevailed over five fluctuating ends against Mick Richardson (6-11, 11-5, 6-11, 11-4, 11-8).  Danbury F also drew 5-5 against Danbury D. Chris Buer was undefeated for Danbury D although he had to pull out all the stops to get the better of Sam Phillips (10-12, 11-5, 10-12, 11-8, 11-9).   

Danbury B, back in sixth place in division one but with two games in hand on some of their rivals  could still conceivably challenge for second place. Sam Lowman was undefeated as they beat a two-man OCA A side 7-3. Lowman had to battle hard for his two wins and he beat Terry Dowsett (11-7, 8-11, 12-10, 8-11, 11-7) and Robbie Burton (11-9, 11-13, 11-4, 9-11, 12-10). Danbury reserve Gus Heath made his mark with an excellent 11-5, 11-3, 11-9 win over Robbie Burton.   A very strong Danbury C side of Keith Adams, Ian Whiteside and Trevor Lloyd powered to a 9-1 win over Chelmsford C. Simon Jarvis was Chelmsford’s sole winner with a 11-7, 11-4, 11-8 win over Ian Whiteside. Leaders and Champions elect – Chelmsford A were a player short against Writtle A. However, with Mens singles Champion Daniel Young remaining undefeated they won 6-4. Daniel Young beat Lee McHugh (11-4, 10-12, 11-7, 12-10) whilst McHugh made his presence felt with a 11-9, 7-11, 11-8, 13-11 victory against James Liddiard.

Galleywood B, with 14 wins out of 15 – took another step towards the division three title by beating  OCA D 8-2. Mark Glenister’s win over Connor Payne could hardly have been closer with Glenister edging it 13-11, 10-12, 9-11, 12-10, 11-9.  The records of their three regular players indicate what a consistent side they have been – John Holland (91 %), Mark Glenister (74 %) and Gary Copsey (89 %). Hatfield Peverel B and Danbury K couldn’t be separated. No one player stayed unbeaten and Hatfield Peverel’s Roger Slade and Paul Mulley and Danbury’s Nicky Reece Ford and Peter Hance all won twice. Peter Hance’s game against Phil Shippen “went to the wire” with Peter Hance finally taking it 11-1, 11-4, 9-11, 7-11, 12-10. Peter Layzell stayed undefeated as Writtle D beat Danbury H 7-3. Layzell had to work hard to overcome Dave Powell 3-11, 11-5, 8-11, 11-8, 12-10. Chelmsford E beat the higher placed Danbury J 6-4. Adi Kamma led the way with three wins. He beat Kevin Willis (11-4, 10-12, 11-7, 12-10), Dave Marsh (11-2, 11-9, 9-11, 11-4) and Dave Meah (11-8, 11-9, 7-11, 11-9).

In division four the leaders Danbury L took another step towards the title by beating Chelmsford H 8-2. Dennis Balic was unbeaten whilst Cleon Fernandes won twice for the losers. He beat Mervyn Perriman (12-10, 2-11, 1-18, 11-4) and Derrick Pearson (11-9, 8-11, 8-11, 1-18, 11-9). Chelmsford G ran out 7-3 winners against Highwood B. Dusan Doszkoty won his three singles whilst Harrison Hill chipped in with a 9-11, 12-10, 11-9, 9-11, 11-9 win over Dave Cockerell. Quite a battle.    

In division five Hatfield Peverel C returned to pole position by beating Chelmsford J 10-0. Andy Whiley, Richard Drozd and Andy Simmonds gave nothing away. Richard Drozd looked to be in trouble against Paul Bullock after losing the first two games quite comfortably, but he eventually pulled through 4-11, 6-11, 12-10, 11-7, 11-7.   Paul Thirkettle stayed unbeaten as Danbury M defeated Danbury N 7-3. Graham Naggs was on target for Danbury N with a hard earned 9-11, 11-7, 6-11, 13-11, 11-7 win over Ken Wilding. League stalwart Stuart Wintle has hit top form and is undefeated for five matches. His three wins helped OCA F beat Hatfield Peverel D 6-4. Kath Little did well to beat David Bishop 3-11, 15-13, 13-11, 15-11, 11-8.

Buttsbury Bees are the early leaders in division 2A of the Junior League. Ben Brown and Jamie Elliott raced to a 5-0 win over Buttsbury Bats although Ben Brown had to work hard to beat George Hagland 7-11, 11-6, 12-10, 12-10. Chelmsford Pumas are in second place and they beat Chelmsford Leopards 3-2. Todd Martin won both of his singles. The Leopards hit back and Cleon Fernandes and Jishant Shah did well to beat Todd Martin / Alesha Ellis-Austin 16-14, 12-10, 11-9 in a very hard fought doubles encounter. Writtle Rattlesnakes emerged as 3-2 winners against Buttsbury Bats; good going as George Hagland won his two singles for Buttsbury Bats. Mimi Pummell beat George Standish 8-11, 11-6, 11-9, 9-11, 11-9 in the closest game of the night.

Chelmsford Cougars (Felix Reeve and Daniel Lewis) made it three wins out of three by beating Chelmsford Eagles 5-0. With Joshua Lewis replacing Felix Reeve they also beat Chelmsford Lions 4-1. Joshua Lewis gave his side a winning start by getting the better of Jaithra Bommu 11-5,11-7, 7-11, 12-14, 11-9. Buttsbury Bulldogs (Joseph Hutt and Callum Walker) ran out 4-1 winners against Buttsbury Beavers. Callum Walker prevailed over five fluctuating ends against Tommy Hudd (11-5, 11-3, 12-14, 4-11, 11-7).            

Steve Kerns Press Officer Chelmsford & District Table Tennis League